Annually, MIACADA recognizes outstanding advising in the State of Michigan. The individuals chosen shown their success as an advisor through their:

  • Strong interpersonal skills
  • Availability to advisees, faculty, or staff
  • Frequency of contact with advisees
  • Appropriate referral activity
  • Use and dissemination of appropriate information sources
  • Evidence of student success rate, by advisor or department
  • Caring, helpful attitude toward advisees, faculty, and staff
  • Meeting advisees in informal settings
  • Participation in and support of intrusive advising to build strong relationships with advisees
  • Monitoring of student progress toward academic and career goals
  • Mastery of institutional regulations, policies, and procedures
  • Ability to engage in, promote, and support developmental advising
  • Evidence of administering an academic advising program that supports NACADA's Core Values
  • Evidence that the advising program reflects the standards of good practice in the CAS Standards and Guidelines for Academic Advising
  • Participation in and support of advisor development programs
  • Perception by colleagues of nominee's advising or advising administration skills

Advising Awards

Advising Award Winners-Advisor Primary Role (Established 2009)

Year Name Institution
2019 Erin Yanke Henry Ford College
2018 Tamarie Willis Wayne State University
2017 Debra Wheeler Oakland University
2016 Sherry Spencer Eastern Michigan University
2015 Laurie Shano Oakland University
2014 Amy Tratt Michigan State University
2013 Angela Caruso Grand Valley State University
2012 Felipe Lopez Sustaita Lansing Community College
2011 Anne M. London Grand Valley State University
2011 Donna LM Malaski Oakland University
2010 Thea Brophy Calvin College
2010 Betty Sanford Michigan State University
2010 Carmen Etienne Oakland University
2009 Marilyn Kritzman Western Michigan University

Advising Award Winners-Faculty Advisor (Established 2009)

Year Name Institution
2018 Bradley Isler Ferris State University
2017 Paula Dronen Andrews University
2009 Christine Yalda Grand Valley State University

Advising Award Winners-Advising Administrator (Established 2009)

Year Name Institution
2019 Christine Robinson Western Michigan University
2018 Catherine Bernas Wayne State University
2016 Dana Hebreard Calvin College
2015 Molly Weir Eastern Michigan University
2012 Cheryl Kollin Wayne State University
2009 Jennifer McCaul Grand Valley State University

Advising Award Winners-Graduate Student (Established 2009)

Year Name Institution
2018 Brooke-Lynn Vij Oakland University
2017 Megan Coburn Grand Valley State University
2015 Theresa Lyon Grand Valley State University
2014 Leah Kicinski Grand Valley State University
2013 John Gipson Grand Valley State University
2012 Kathryn Clark Grand Valley State University
2011 Amy M. Burns Grand Valley State University
2009 Lauren Long Grand Valley State University